the sound of sunshine

[music and happy]

I’ve been away from this for awhile, distracted by responsibility and stress, cluttered with thoughts and heaviness. Writing is usually always the answer for all of those things…but i couldn’t get away long enough to write without feeling guilty. And then, today I did. I spent the hours writing. mostly purging my heart of heaviness and other necessary things that I’ll share at some point. but theeen, a song played, about sunshine, and thoughts shifted to this past weekend.

I wrote about my first weekend away last year, a truly different experience than this past May when I stripped away my outer shell and revealed most of my being to a room full of strangers, now sisters. This most recent weekend was quite different. It was a weekend spent serving a group of beautiful women through a ministry that envelopes my heart in the most beautiful way: music. This weekend reiterated something to me that i have always known in my heart — music heals my soul.

singing at sunrise..

Someone recently asked me about my religion. Without thinking too deeply, I answered openly and honestly, mentioning a few of the major tenets of my faith. and then I added that I see God in music. and I truly meant it. I heal when I sing, and feel the warmth of the sun through the melody.

a bit dramatic? perhaps. but true, nonetheless. I think we all need more of what heals us…like the sound of sunshine.

 

One thought on “the sound of sunshine

Leave a Reply

