Soul(mates).

[soul(mates) & happy]

I never believed in soul mates. Or at least not in the stereotypical sense of the term. You know, the “romantic, true love, meant to be united, destined and fated and together forever” sense.

…I still don’t believe in that.

But I do believe in soul(mates).
Let’s explore.

I started thinking about the idea of soul mates after doing some exploration on personality types. …yes, that’s the type of thing I do in my free time. Go ahead, you can say it: Clouds, you’re awesome. (Taking obvious liberties in assuming that that’s what you’re thinking. I think we’re both used to it at this point so why ruin a good thing, right? Right.). The more I study and work and explore and live, the more I am convinced about the guiding influence of our personality on our actions/reactions/inaction as social and reactive beings.

Where am I going with this? Personality and happy and soul mates, that’s where. Stick with me.

So, I’m exploring and come across this description of the INFJ personality type (which just so happens to best describe my traits. Shocker). Here’s part of the million-word description that spurred this post:

“INFJs are true introverts, who can only be emotionally intimate and fulfilled with a chosen few from among their long-term friends, family, or obvious ‘soul mates.'”

Yes! That’s it! I think many of you may relate to that statement, to the whole description in fact (you should totally follow the link above if you have some time; it has some great insights or just thoughts to reflect on, which is always nice). It’s a truth I’ve discovered about myself. Part of this whole happiness thing is connecting with others. We are meant to be social beings. What isn’t set is whether that means “social” in the extroverted sense or “social” in an introverted, more intimate sense.

So I believe ((and personally need)) soul(mates) to help my happy. And I think you do too.

Like I said before, I don’t believe in soul mates as they are commonly thought of. If you do, that’s cool too. This isn’t a judgment on that. What I’m saying is that I think we all need soul(mates) in our lives, people who allow us to be emotionally intimate with them, without judging or expecting or needing anything from us other than simply our being. They help us feel fulfilled, capable, worthy. They are amazing spirits that compliment our own free spirited nature. But they are rare, hard to come by, and sometimes lost in the mix of life. And this is okay. …well, not okay okay, but it’s part of living and letting go. I don’t have a grasp on it exactly and am not an expert on letting go (as i wrote about before) but I have come to learn that it’s a part of living. I have a few soul(mates), kind souls with whom I can be unabashedly me. It’s the most amazing feeling in the world. And I am constantly meeting others who seem to fit into this as well.

so while I don’t believe in soul mates, I believe something: I believe in soul(mates).
what do you believe in?

soulmates

One thought on “Soul(mates).

Leave a Reply

