I gave the ring back — or that’s just not me

I won’t keep the ring, even if everyone thinks I should since you were the one that left. That’s just not me.

I won’t yell at you for being so carelessly inconsiderate with my emotions, even if we both know I probably should. That’s just not me.

I won’t cause a scene in a public space, even if you did act like an asshole. That’s just not me.

I won’t call you incessantly, check your phone, drive myself crazy with where you’ve been, even if we both know the truth. That’s just not me.

Instead, I’ll think of you in place of me.

Instead, I’ll think about how you’re probably going through some shit, something that warrants you acting like an asshole. Self-consumed in your own struggles but valid nonetheless. 

Instead, I’ll smile, wish you the best, and walk away.

Instead, I’ll move forward, accepting it for what it is, but not for what it has to be…

image

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

