5 reasons i know the grinch attempted to steal christmas but failed — or part 2.

[on holidays & happy]

I can write now.

about the clues that led to my realization that the grinch didn’t steal christmas after all. about how Charlie Brown saved my Christmas. & about love and laughter and happy. ((you & I are both going to ignore the fact that we are closer to New Year’s Eve than we are to Christmas given the this-story-has-to-be-shared-and-it-was-rudely-interrupted-by-someone-else-my-own-reaction reason which is a pretty good one I think))

so here it is:

5. the semi-non-dysfunctional family celebration of life and love and warm feelings and cultura was there all along, i was just too stubborn stuck on the idea of my perfect to notice it.

4. i received a very-unexpected gift from one of my bosses. [side note: i’ll write later about my many part-times. basically, my schedule doesn’t really allow for a full-time or even a full part-time job so i’ve chosen about 4-5 things i love doing and found wonderful professionals that allow me to do them about once or twice a week]. the little black book of neuropsychology was the gift. if you’re wondering, i love the gift. i’ve accepted my oddities fully, this being one of them. anyway, the gifter, a neuropsychologist, also  inscribed a brief message on the inside cover, one that was motivating and very much appreciated, and more touching given presence of human connection. the grinch had his work cut out for him if he was going to attempt to take that away from me.

3. dinner on Christmas Eve was filled with good food and actual conversation. no arguments. no foul language. just conversation. ((of course it wouldn’t be a mexican christmas without a few inappropriate comments but hey, i’ll take it))

2. last-minute gifts flooded the tree. simple presents. perfect in their own way. mostly for my 3-year-old nephew. well, at least

"I’m glad he took our presents. You can’t hurt Christmas, Mr. Mayor, beacuse it isn’t about the… the gifts or the contest or the fancy lights. That’s what Cindy’s been trying to tell everyone… and me. I don’t need anything more for Christmas than this right here: my family."
“…I don’t need anything more for Christmas than this right here: my family.”

those are the ones i remember the most. his reaction was heartwarming. and perfect. absolutely perfect. should i share? silly question, i know. “just what i wanted!!!” & “i love it!” were a couple of the comments. imagine them coming from a 3-year-old full of honesty and expression. seeing his smile, hearing his laughter, and witnessing his happy. it was all perfect. really it was.

1. post-Christmas eve events entailed attending Christmas mass, accompanied voluntarily by mi mami. and hearing our Mexican priest discuss his experience watching A Charlie Brown Christmas for the first time. and the lessons learned from this holiday classic. every now and then (more emphasis on the every and now than the then), the sermon somehow addressing my very concern, seemingly speaking to me, written for me. He spoke about relationships. about friendships. about family. about love. about reaching out. and forgiving.

needless to say, I came to the conclusion that Charlie Brown won this round. fo sho. we’ll have to wait til next year to see if there’s a rematch.

Leave a Reply

