5 reasons i know the grinch stole christmas

[on holiday & happy]

The grinch did away with the holiday spirit. and i kinda like it. How I did I come to this oh-so-sound conclusion, you ask? Well…

5. in place of tons of wrapped presents under the tree, there are some wrapped presents…mostly from me.

4. no christmas dresses or button-up shirts. no fancy hair and attempts at make-up. only the clothes we decided to wear that morning or stumbled home in after work.

3. instead of the usual big family meal on Christmas Eve, last minute pots of food top the stove and leftovers fill the microwave.

2. I went grocery shopping today. on the eve of Christmas. sounds pretty gotta-pick-up-last-minute-ingredients-on-the-day-before-Christmas, right? it wasn’t. While others filled there carts with pies and hams and yams and stuffing, i filled mine with fabric softener and soy milk and canned soup.

1. i’m excited about post-Christmas eve events, which for me, this year, entail solitary events like attending mass, cleaning out the shed, & riding and reading and writing.

Yup, folks. chalk one up for the grinch.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not saying that I don’t like or miss Christmas. correction, I am saying I don’t miss Christmas, the materialist-fueled, consumerist-turned holiday. nor do I miss the Christmas, the Clouds-you-have-to-make-it-come-together family event. and I especially don’t miss the alcohol-enhanced dysfunction soiree. I do miss Christmas, the semi-non-dysfunctional family celebration of life and love and warm feelings and cultura. Look friends, i’m in no way looking for a Very Brady Christmas or whatever the Latino-equivalent may be. I’m just in the mood to boycott those aforementioned Christmases in search for the more nostalgic ones of childhood. distorted memories of Christmas-past? perhaps. but I think it’s about time I hang on to that idea a little more than before.

in the words of Lou Lou Who:

I’m glad he took our presents. You can’t hurt Christmas, Mr. Mayor, beacuse it isn’t about the… the gifts or the contest or the fancy lights. That’s what Cindy’s been trying to tell everyone… and me. I don’t need anything more for Christmas than this right here: my family.

part of me is choosing to ignore the fact that Whoville is a magical place filled with well-meaning, non-alcoholic, affectionate, respectable Whos and not your typical Mexican family.

3 thoughts on “5 reasons i know the grinch stole christmas

Leave a Reply

