friendships made in open spaces — or on relationships

[on relationships & happy]

-What’s your name?–Emma.
-Your name is Emma?
–Yes.
-My mom’s friend is named Emma.

I found it hard to focus again, hard to shut off the noise. I sat in church, opportunities for distractions all around me. crying children, people arriving late, doors shutting closed behind them, open windows revealing clouds, people singing off-key, related & unrelated conversations…

a life lesson was learned from one of those conversations.

so there I was, trying hard to keep my eyes from wandering to the cute boys, cute babies, cute families. trying hard to open my ears, allowing the words, sounds of God to enter. trying hard to shut off the noise. failing miserably at all of the above. my eyes, ears, and mind were directed to my neighbors, a little girl (Emma) and her mom to my right, another little girl and her dad adjacent in the pew in front. They spoke in a socially appropriate manner, or too-loudly in church standards, without filter or regard for judgement of others. I continued listening to their conversation, not able to hide the smile on my face or in my heart.

<3 nourishing the soul

-What’s your name?–Emma.
-Your name is Emma?
–Yes.
-My mom’s friend is named Emma.

and by the end of service, it was decided that they were friends, plans made to meet at little girl’s house, go to the nearby park on little girl’s 4-wheelers, sadness expressed when goodbyes were not exchanged after Emma’s mom decided it was time to go.

At that moment, I wished life had remained that simple. Or rather, I wished people realized, remembered that life could be that simple. Imagine where we would be if we held on to the mindset we had as children in terms of relationships, friendships made in open spaces, without filter or regard for the judgment of others…

“The real things haven’t changed. It is still best to be honest and truthful; to make the most of what we have; to be happy with simple pleasures; and have courage when things go wrong.” ― Laura Ingalls Wilder

Leave a Reply

