“life does not actually occur as described by Drake” — or my Secrets

I loved words. I love to sing them and speak them and even now, I must admit, I have fallen into the joy of writing them. Anne Rice.

So I should preface this by saying the following: I recently rekindled my passion for books and my love of reading. Actually, let me rephrase that: I recently made time for my first passion, partially due to the mound of half-read books filling my bookshelves and windowsills as well as Amazon’s wonder that is free samples on Kindle ebooks.  While I’ve managed to finish a few of those begun-so-long-ago-that-I-dont-actually-remember-the-content-so-I-should-probably-read-it-from-the-beginning books, I’ve also found myself with quite a collection of samples of ebooks. Mind you, all samples have been read, which basically leaves me with an upgraded, high-tech collection of potentially susceptible “begun-so-long-ago-that-I-dont-actually-remember-the-content-so-I-should-probably-read-it-from-the-beginning” books. Buuut, let’s get back to the purposes of this post and actual reason I make mention to this: reading inspires me.

One sample, Rubin’s The Happiness Project, provided some of that inspiration. While this book may not be everyone’s cup of tea, I did find some of it to be thought-inspiring and allowed for reflection and obviously in the general area of happiness. One part made mention of lessons learned. during the process of growing up. Given my upcoming birthday (and potential quarter-life crisis which I’m sure I will share with you all around that date), I found myself reflecting on my lessons learned.

Here are some of the things I’ve learned along the way, or my version of Rubin’s Secrets to Adulthood. These were discovered either through failure, practice, happenstance, or observation. some are insightful lessons learned, while others are more practical things I’ve learned to consider.

`music makes life more interesting

`always carry a sweater

`adventures are a necessary part of life

…so is dancing

`life does not actually occur as described by Drake

`feminism isn’t a bad word. it’s actually very good. and empowering.

`if you believe it, embrace it

`slow down.

`seriously, slow down.

`take advantage of every opportunity, as much as you can, as often as you can

`contradictions are allowed.

`the motto YOLO can be great to live by…if it means taking advantage of every opportunity to do better and be better, not getting wasted, sleeping around, and/or using it as permission to be ignorant

`sleep, on some nights, is overrated

`sleep, most nights, is essential

`most people have good intentions

`many people, including (or perhaps especially true for) family, have poor execution of those good intentions

`”douchebags” do exist and are actually out there; it is not your responsibility to stick around to see if they’ll “change”

`try ((almost)) anything once…unless it goes against personal value or  belief. if that’s the case, then give yourself permission to not try it and, more importantly, be okay with that

`waiting to find someone who loves you for you later rather than settling for someone who love you for them now is worth it

`at least 7 hours of sleep and three meals a day will leave you feeling amazing, especially if you’re not used to it

` love everyone; even if you “hate” them, respect them

`respect yourself; it sets a baseline for how others should treat you

`surrounding yourself with people who bring you happy will actually bring you happy

`we each have our own kind of strong

`pushing yourself a little further past your “this is all I can do” point will reveal that “this” is not actually all you can do

`it’s okay to let go…

`true “happiness” isn’t void of pain or hurt or disappointment, it’s strengthened by it

`you are stronger than you imagine

`writing is healing. do it more often.

…what are your Secrets?

The art of writing is the art of discovering what you believe. Gustave Flaubert.

2 thoughts on ““life does not actually occur as described by Drake” — or my Secrets

Leave a Reply

